Historic Preservation Honor Awards

Preservation Awards 2017-05-25T15:51:11+00:00

Exemplary Achievements Honored at the Annual Preservation Honor Awards

The 2017 Preservation Honor Awards were presented on May 19, 2017 at the historic YWCA Laniākea in Downtown Honolulu.  250 guests joined Historic Hawai‘i Foundation at this celebratory gathering.  Architectural historian, Don Hibbard, PhD, was honored for the many contributions he has made towards preserving historic places in Hawai‘i, including his career as administrator of the Hawai‘i State Historic Preservation Division, the books he has authored on architectural history in the Islands, and as a community advocate who helps nominate properties to the National Register of Historic Places and increase awareness of historic places through educational programs.  As veteran architect Frank Haines summarized, “Don has done more to save Hawai‘i’s architecture than anyone I know.”

A total of twenty-one projects were honored in the categories of Achievements in Interpretive Media, Individual Achievement, Preservation Commendations and Preservation Awards.

The milestone anniversaries of sixteen kama‘āina companies, organizations and institutions in Hawai‘i were also recognized in celebration of their rich history and how they help form the singular culture of the Hawaiian Islands.

Event Program

Download (PDF)

Event Photos







9th Annual Frank Haines Award

Don Hibbard, PhD, Architectural Historian

Achievements in Interpretive Media

  • Crew’s Room Exhibit at the Battleship Missouri Memorial, Pearl Harbor, O‘ahu
  • Hilton Hawaiian Village’s History Wall Exhibit, Honolulu, O‘ahu
  • Paintings, Prints and Drawings of Hawai‘i from the Sam & Mary Cooke Collection book
  • Sugarcane Days: Remembering Maui’s Hawaiian Commercial & Sugar Company book
  • Wheeler Army Airfield Interpretive Display Panels, Schofield Barracks, O‘ahu

Individual Achievement

  • Ms. Laurette Gail “Pixie” Navas, Kailua-Kona, Hawai‘i Island

Preservation Commendation

  • Hawaiian Islands Land Trust’s Talk Story on the Land Program, Maui, Hawai‘i Island, O‘ahu, Kaua‘i
  • Joint Base Pearl Harbor Hickam Treatment Guidelines for Historic Facilities, O‘ahu
  • Kona Historical Society’s Jeep Trip Program, Kona, Hawai‘i Island
  • Long-term Historic Property Monitoring Plan for UH Managed Lands on Maunakea, Hawai‘i Island
  • Naval Air Station Barbers Point Historic Properties Assessment Project, ‘Ewa, O‘ahu
  • Pearl Harbor Shipyard Train Rail System Report, O‘ahu
  • Translating Japanese Headstones on Kalaupapa National Historic Landmark, Moloka‘i
  • USS Arizona Digital Preservation Project, Pearl Harbor, O‘ahu

Preservation Award

  • ‘Ewa Community Church Restoration, ‘Ewa Villages, O‘ahu
  • Grace Center Rehabilitation and Adaptive Re-Use, Bond Historic District, Kapa‘au, Hawai‘i Island
  • Lāna‘i Hospice and Physical Therapy Offices Rehabilitation, Lāna‘i
  • Nā Kūpuna Makamae Center at Kaka‘ako Pump Station, Honolulu, O‘ahu
  • Pearl Harbor Naval Shipyard Building 208 Rehabilitation, Joint Base Pearl Harbor Hickam, O‘ahu
  • Roof Replacement & Photovoltaic Panels Installation at Building 104, Wheeler Army Airfield, Schofield Barracks, O‘ahu
  • Schofield Barracks Building 690 Rehabilitation, O‘ahu

Anniversary Recognitions

175 Years

  • St. Raphael Church, Kaua‘i

150 Years

  • St. Andrew’s Priory School, O‘ahu

 125 Years

  • Hawaiian Historical Society, O‘ahu

Centennial – 100 Years

  • American Red Cross, Hawai‘i Chapter, O‘ahu
  • Borthwick Mortuary, O‘ahu
  • Girl Scouts of Hawai‘i
  • Higashi Hongwanji Hawai‘i, O‘ahu
  • Hilo Federal Building US Post Office & Office Building, Hawai‘i Island
  • Hui Noeau Visual Arts Center, Maui
  • Japanese Garden in Lili‘uokalani Gardens, Hawai‘i Island
  • Makawao Union Church, Maui
  • Manago Hotel, Hawai‘i Island
  • The Mission Memorial Building and Auditorium, O‘ahu
  • Samuel Mahelona Memorial Hospital, Kaua‘i
  • Komoda Store and Bakery, Maui

About the Preservation Honor Awards

The Historic Preservation Honor Awards are Hawaii’s highest recognition of projects, organizations, publications or individuals active in preservation, rehabilitation, restoration, or interpretation of the State’s archaeological, architectural, and cultural sites.  The Preservation Honor Awards are designed to recognize achievements in interpreting, preserving or restoring Hawaii’s built environment.

Nominations are considered by a committee of professionals who are invited to serve on the Historic Preservation Honor Awards Committee.

Each nomination is considered on its own merit and not in competition with others.  The Committee reserves the right to select multiple awards or no awards in each category.  Nominations from all counties are encouraged.

Since 1975, the Historic Hawai‘i Foundation has selected historic preservation honor award winners throughout the State of Hawai‘i.

See All Past Award Winners

View the entire list of Historic Preservation Honor Award winners from 1975 to the present

Some of the past recipients include:

  • Hawai‘i Theatre Center
  • Charles P.M.K. Burrows, Ed.D.
  • Mason Architects and the Doris Duke Foundation for Islamic Art
  • Nancy Bannick
  • W. C Peacock Roofing
  • ‘Ahuimanu Taro Complex
  • Pacific Aviation Museum
  • Loriann Gordon
  • Hale o Lono
  • YMCA of Honolulu and CDS International
  • Wailuku Courthouse
  • Hanalei Bridge
  • State Representative Corinne Ching
  • Lihue Hongwanji
  • PBR Hawaii
  • Mauna Kea Beach Hotel
  • Kona Historical Society
  • W. H. Shipman House
  • Pohaku: The Art & Architecture of Stonework in Hawai‘i.