Historic Hawai‘i Foundation Names TIM JOHNS 26TH ANNUAL 2013 KAMA‘ĀINA OF THE YEAR™

On Saturday, September 28th, Tim Johns was honored as the 2013 Kama‘āina of the Year in recognition of his distinguished career in helping to preserve, perpetuate and celebrate the natural, cultural and historic resources of Hawai‘i.  As past president and CEO of Bishop Museum, Tim provided leadership of the State Museum of Natural and Cultural History. As former Chairperson of the Board of Land and Natural Resources, he was responsible for the conservation and stewardship of public lands, historic properties and cultural resources.

“Tim’s community activities include perpetuating the ranching and agricultural history of the Islands, and his commitment to natural resource protection—including cultural and historic landscapes—is evident in his community service,” said Frank Haas, HHF Board President. “For his lifelong support and dedication to preserving the historic, cultural and natural heritage of Hawai‘i, HHF is proud to honor Tim Johns as its 2013 Kama‘aina of the Year.”

Historic Hawai‘i Foundation annually recognizes individuals who have contributed to preserving Hawai‘i’s rich history.  The Kama‘aina of the Year™ event furthers Historic Hawai‘i Foundation’s mission to preserve and encourage the preservation of historic buildings, objects, sites and communities significant to the history of the Hawaiian Islands.

[justified_image_grid ids=”960,961,962,963,964,965,966,967,968,969,970,971,972,973,974,975,976,977,978,979,980,981,982,983,984,985,986,987,988,989,990,991,992,993,994,995,996,997,998,999,1000,1001,1002,1003,1004,1005,1006,1007,1008,1009,1010,1011,1012,1013,1014,1015,1016,1017,1018,1019,1020,1021,1022,1023,1024,1025,1026,1027,1028,1029,1030,1031,1032,1033,1034,1035,1036,1037,1038,1039,1040,1041,1042,1043,1044,1045,1046,1047,1048,1049,1050,1051,1052,1053,1054,1055,1056,1057,1058,1059,1060,1061,1062,1063,1064,1065,1066,1067,1068,1069,1070,1071,1072,1073,1074,1075,1076,1077,1078,1079,1080,1081,1082,1083,1084,1085,1086,1087,1088,1089,1090,1091,1092,1093,1094,1095,1096,1097,1098,1099,1100,1101,1102,1103,1104,1105,1106,1107,1108,1109,1110,1111,1112,1113,1114,1115,1116,1117,1118,1119,1120,1121,1122,1123,1124,1125,1126,1127,1128,1129,1130,1131″]

Mahalo Sponsors:


  • HMSA
  • Hawaii Gas


  • Bank of Hawaii


  • Topa Management Company
  • Kobayashi Group/MacNaughton Group/BlackSand Capital
  • WCIT Architecture
  • Pulama Lana‘i
  • Goodfellow Brothers, Inc.
  • Mason Architects, Inc.
  • Aulani Resort
  • Group 70 International
  • Taubman
  • Hawai‘i Visitor & Convention Bureau
  • ProService Hawai‘i
  • Hawaii Pacific Health
  • Carlsmith Ball LLP
  • Kyo-Ya Hotels & Resorts LP
  • HGEA
  • Tim & Robin Johns
  • Lend Lease/Hickam Communities & Island Palm Communities


  • Consuelo Foundation
  • Goodsill Anderson Quinn & Stifel
  • Kuiwalu Consulting
  • Kane‘ohe Ranch Company
  • Alexander & Baldwin, Inc.
  • Candon, Todd & Seabolt, LLC
  • D.R. Horton
  • SSFM International
  • Queen’s Medical Center
  • Office of Hawaiian Affairs
  • Turtle Bay Resort
  • Kukulu
  • Matson Foundation
  • Trinity Investments
  • Bishop Museum
  • Alston Hunt Floyd & Ing
  • Young Brothers
  • Haseko Development/Delta Construction
  • Jean Campbell/Marcy Fleming/Rick Piper
  • Armstrong Building Maintenance
  • Wilson Okamoto Corporation
  • Hawaiian Telcom
  • Hunt Companies, Inc.
  • Haleakala Ranch
  • KAI Hawai‘i/PBR  Hawai‘i Inc.
  • Helber Hastert & Fee, Planners
  • Outrigger Enterprises Group
  • Hilton Hawaiian Village
  • Central Pacific Bank
  • RM Towill
  • Territorial Savings Bank
  • Allied Builders System
  • Vitus
2017-04-21T01:03:38+00:00 December 28th, 2013|Categories: Kamaaina of the Year|