Lynne and Randy Moore Named 2016 KAMA‘ĀINA OF THE YEAR

Historic Hawai‘i Foundation is pleased to announce that Lynne Johnson and Randy Moore will be honored as the 2016 Kama‘āina of the Year™.

Lynne Johnson is a lecturer in musicology at the University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa. She serves as a trustee on the boards of the Mānoa Heritage Center, Honolulu Museum of Art and Hawai‘i Opera Theatre.  Through her community service with these organizations, Dr. Johnson has been a strong supporter of art, culture, history and preservation in Honolulu.

Randolph G. Moore is a retired business executive, middle school teacher and Department of Education administrator. He currently serves on the Board of Regents for the University of Hawai‘i. Mr. Moore held executive positions with Kāne‘ohe Ranch, Moloka‘i Ranch and Castle & Cooke. After retirement, he taught mathematics at Central Middle School, then transferred to the Department of Education, working as assistant superintendent for school facilities and support services.

The event is scheduled for Saturday, October 1, at 6 p.m. at the Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort in Waikīkī.  The event includes a cocktail hour, dinner, tribute to the honoree and musical entertainment.

Click here for more information


Historic Hawai‘i Foundation (HHF) annually honors individuals or organizations who have contributed to preserving Hawaii’s rich history and perpetuating the essence of Hawai‘i.  The Kama‘aina of the Year program honors community members and organizations who have made unique and lasting contributions to the preservation of Hawaii’s historic places and culture.  The event furthers Historic Hawai‘i Foundation’s mission to preserve and encourage the preservation of historic buildings, objects, sites and communities.  The Kama‘aina of the Year benefit is Historic Hawai‘i Foundation’s annual fundraising event and accounts for a significant portion of its annual operating budget.

Past Honorees:

2016 Neil Hannahs
2014 Steven Ai and Carol Ai May
2013 Tim Johns

2012 Senator Daniel K. Akaka
2011 Herb Kawainui Kane
2010 Princess Abigail Kawananakoa
2009 Daniel K. Inouye & Irene Hirano Inouye
2008 Bert & Susan Kobayashi
2007 Richard Kelley & Jeanne Rolles
2006 Sam & Mary Cooke
2005 Washington Place
2004 John Morgan
2003 Oz Stender
2002 Thurston Twigg-Smith
2001 Moana Hotel
2000 Alexander & Baldwin
1999 Ed Carter
1998 Helen Cole
1997 C. Dudley Pratt, Jr.
1996 Waikiki
1995 Chinatown
1994 Kakaako
1993 Peg & Bill Paty
1992 Joan & Kenny Brown
1991 Herman Von Holt
1990 RJ “Bobby” Pfeiffer
1989 Irmgard Farden Aluli
1988 Abraham Akaka