Lynne Johnson and Randy Moore Honored as 2016 KAMA‘ĀINA OF THE YEAR

Historic Hawai‘i Foundation is pleased to announce that Lynne Johnson and Randy Moore were honored as the 2016 Kama‘āina of the Year™. The event was held on Saturday, October 1, at 6 p.m. at the Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort in Waikīkī.

For 29 years, Historic Hawai‘i Foundation has recognized individuals who have contributed to preserving Hawaii’s rich history.  The Kama‘āina of the Year™ award presentation occurs at Historic Hawai‘i Foundation’s annual fundraising event, now in its 41st year. The benefit furthers HHF’s mission to preserve and encourage the preservation of historic buildings, objects, sites and communities significant to the history of the Hawaiian Islands.

Lynne Johnson is a lecturer in musicology at the University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa. She serves as a trustee on the boards of the Mānoa Heritage Center, Honolulu Museum of Art and Hawai‘i Opera Theatre.  Through her community service with these organizations, Dr. Johnson has been a strong supporter of art, culture, history and preservation in Honolulu.

Randolph G. Moore is a retired business executive, middle school teacher and Department of Education administrator. He currently serves on the Board of Regents for the University of Hawai‘i. Mr. Moore held executive positions with Kāne‘ohe Ranch, Moloka‘i Ranch and Castle & Cooke. After retirement, he taught mathematics at Central Middle School, then transferred to the Department of Education, working as assistant superintendent for school facilities and support services.

The couple was recognized in honor of their community service to Hawai‘i, including commitments to enhancements and improvements in arts and culture, land stewardship and educational sectors. The Kama‘āina of the Year event will feature themes of community engagement and involvement.

Documentary filmmaker Robin Lung eloquently captures the grace, elegance and spirit of service Lynne and Randy exude in all of their good works in their Kama‘āina of the Year video.  Watch the 10 minute video here.

Event Photos

Mahalo to our Sponsors

Table Sponsors


Lynne Johnson &
Randolph Moore



  • Alexander & Baldwin, Inc./Grace Pacific LLC
  • Allied Builders System
  • Castle & Cooke Hawaii
  • Cultural Surveys Hawai‘i, Inc. (2 tables)
  • First Insurance Company of Hawai‘i, Ltd.
  • Hawaiian Electric Companies
  • The Howard Hughes Corporation
  • Kamehameha Schools
  • Kyo-ya Hotels and Resorts
  • Marquesa Kapiolani Marignoli
  • Mason Architects, Inc.
  • The Queen’s Medical Center


  • Bishop Museum
  • Catherine Cooke
  • First Hawaiian Bank
  • Goodsill Anderson Quinn & Stifel
  • Group 70 International
  • Haleakalā Ranch Company
  • Hawai‘i National Bank
  • Honolulu Museum of Art
  • Hunt Companies
  • KAI Hawai‘i
  • Matson
  • Wendie McAllaster & Anna Grune
  • Minatoishi Architects
  • Monarch Insurance
  • Outrigger Enterprises
  • PBR Hawaii & Associates, Inc.
  • Pūlama Lāna‘i
  • Punahou School
  • Sarah Richards & Maggie Walker
  • R.M. Towill Corporation
  • Schlack Ito
  • UH-Mānoa Hawai‘inuiakea School of Hawaiian Knowledge/UH-Mānoa College of Arts & Humanities
  • University of Hawai‘i System
  • United Laundry Service
  • WCIT Architecture
  • Wilson Okamoto Corporation
  • Young Brothers


HOAPILI – $10,000+

KĀKO‘O – $5,000+

  • International Market Place

KŌKUA – $3,500+

  • Deloitte Touche LLP
  • Kaonoulu Ranch
  • Todd & Seabolt, LLC

MĀLAMA – $1,000

  • ABC Stores
  • Armstrong Builders
  • Aukahi LLC
  • Patsy & Robert Bunn
  • Jean Campbell
  • Michael Gibson
  • The Gentry Companies
  • Halekūlani Corp.
  • David & Nery Heenan
  • Pat Griffin & Tommy Noyes
  • Grove Farm
  • Floria Komer
  • Kuiwalu Consulting
  • Maui Architectural Group
  • Coralie Matayoshi
  • Niu Pia Land Co. Ltd.
  • Philpotts & Associates, Inc.
  • Peter Tsukazaki
  • Shelley Wilson


  • Big Island Candies
  • Bishop Museum
  • Blue Note Hawaii
  • Jean Campbell
  • DFS Group Limited, Hawai‘i Division
  • Diamond Head Theatre
  • Duke’s Canoe Club
  • The Fairmont Orchid
  • Soleil Fusha
  • Grand Wailea, a Waldorf Astoria Resort
  • Halekūlani Hotel
  • Hans Hedemann Surf, Inc.
  • Hawaii Gas
  • Hawaii Potters’ Guild
  • Hawaii Theatre Center
  • Hawaiian Airlines
  • Hawaiian Electric Companies
  • Hilton Waikoloa Village
  • Honolulu Museum of Art
  • Honolulu Theatre For Youth and Via Gelato
  • Elisabeth Iwata
  • Kaanapali Beach Hotel
  • Kahuku Farms
  • Kealopiko
  • Kīlauea Lodge
  • Ko`olina Golf Club
  • Kumu Kahua Theatre
  • Laka Skin Care & Spa
  • Malie Organics
  • Marriott Resort Waikoloa Beach Resort & Spa
  • Maui Divers Jewelry
  • Mauna Kea Beach Hotel
  • The Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows
  • Moana Surfrider
  • The Modern Honolulu
  • Jim Niess
  • Paiko
  • Polynesian Cultural Center
  • Jon Rawlings
  • Roy Sakuma Productions, Inc.
  • Royal Kona Resort
  • Sea Life Park
  • Sheraton Waikiki/Kyo-ya Management Co.
  • Sony Open in Hawai‘i
  • Tamura’s Fine Wine & Liquors
  • Trump International Hotel Waikīkī  Beach Walk
  • Via Gelato
  • Waimea Valley
  • Wet ‘n’ Wild Hawaii
  • Young Brothers


  • Maenette Ah Nee-Benham
  • The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort
  • Paradise Beverages
  • Simon Crookall, Erik Haines, Leslie Goldman McInerny, Blythe Kelsey & Stephen Strugnell of Hawai‘i Opera Theatre
  • Constance Uejio, Hawai‘i Symphony Orchestra
  • Hawai‘i Youth Opera Ho‘okahi Ensemble
  • John Mount, Thomas Trotter & Larry Paxton of UH Mānoa College of Arts & Humanities
  • PSAV
  • Mark Taketa, Charles Taketa Graphic Design
  • Minatoishi Architects
  • BK Photo
  • Blake Entertainment
  • Robin Lung, Nested Egg Productions
2017-04-21T01:01:19+00:00 June 3rd, 2016|Categories: Kamaaina of the Year|